Contact Us

Welcome to the link to the Holmen Area Library, one of five branches of the La Crosse County Library. The five libraries in the county are unique in that the communities in which they are located provide the facilities so we may provide services for area residents.

Many people may not fully realize the contribution that the five communities of Bangor, Campbell, Holmen, Onalaska and West Salem make to library services besides the facility itself. Ongoing expenses such as electricity, phone service, cleaning, lawn care, snow removal, furnishings and even some equipment for public use. The County’s role is to provide professional staff, resources, materials, supplies, programming and much more.

Library Village of Holmen

Each of the five communities has designated a Library Commission or Committee to handle the annual expenses and budget concerns of the library facility they provide. These are often elected officials but they are also Village, Town or City government appointments with little or nothing to gain by the significant contribution they make with their time and talents.

Examples of improvements that a municipality may provide the library would be a sound system for a meeting room, directional street signs, carpet replacement, update lighting fixtures or HVAC systems or a fresh coat of paint.

The generosity of these five communities not only enhance the library services that La Crosse County provides, but their role in facility management is key to allowing the County to provide local libraries to enhance and strengthen these communities.

Check out the La Crosse County Library website for:

  • Library Catalog
  • Hours of Operation and Phone numbers
  • Programming information
  • FAQs
The mission of the La Crosse County Library is to assist patrons in the pursuit of life-long learning by providing equal access to informational, educational, cultural and recreational materials in a variety of formats and to be responsive to the public library needs of the communities we serve.